top of page

2020 Reading Wrap-Up: All the Books I Read, Sponsored by the Pandemic

Blue Lily, Lily Blue & The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 4, 5


Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Rating: 5


Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

These books literally made me so anxious (in a good anticipatory way), and hooked me all the way through.

Rating: 5, 5


The Foxhole Court, The Raven King & The King's Men by Nora Sakavic

The first two books are kind of slow (especially the first – I kind of wanted to put it down), but the final book made it all worth it for me. Definitely not an all-time favorite, but the last book really hit me in the heart.

Rating: 3, 4, 4.5


Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 4


Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

The writing is amazing, but the story is a little painful to read.

Rating: 2


Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman (x2)

This is my second favorite book of all time. Yes, I read it twice in a span of 5 months. We don't need to talk about it. This book is amazing. (The movie is great, too, but it's even better when you've read the book and understand the context and Elio's inner thoughts.) The first time I read it, I said I didn't love the last chunk of how it ended, but I think I just needed to reread it in order to understand why it made sense, and turns out, I love every single page of this book.

Rating: 5


Find Me by André Aciman

I did a review on this one that you can read Here. It really impacted me the first time I read it, and I ended up relating to it more than Call Me By Your Name at first. Though, that opinion has flip-flopped now, but I still think this is the best companion novel that Aciman could have written.

Rating: 5


Enigma Variations by André Aciman

Rating: 4


Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

This is my number one favorite book OF ALL TIME. It's the first book by Markus Zusak I ever read, and I will not stop bawling every time I read this one. It's beautiful, impactful, and I'll never get tired of it. Everyone needs to read it.

Rating: 5


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I was sleeping on this one, I'm not gonna lie. I put off reading it for years, and I finally got to reading it for the first time in 2020. As is typical with Markus Zusak's works, I cried. Very much. This book is perfect in every way.

Rating: 5


I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

NOBODY WRITES BETTER CHARACTERS THAN MARKUS ZUSAK! And a dog that drinks coffee? Don't even get me started. I need to read this book a billion more times.

Rating: 5


It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

With one of the most relatable narrators, this story about recovery and self-discovery is one of the best.

Rating: 5


The Book of Longings by Sue Monk Kidd

Rating: 4


What If It's Us by Becky Albertalli

Rating: 4


Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

David Levithan is really hit or miss, and this one just wasn't really a hit for me.

Rating: 2


The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup

This one scared me and kept me hooked the entire time, and it was definitely the book that inspired me to write my own thriller/horror.

Rating: 5


Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian

Rating: 4


Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I used to love these books, and then I used to love the movies. Now, I think they're both equally as terrible, but still a guilty pleasure. Except I think from now on, I'll stick to the movies. They have a leg up only because of Robert Pattinson. (And Taylor Lautner, sometimes.)

Rating: 2


New Moon by Stephanie Meyer

I could give you a whole character analysis on how annoying Bella Swan is. I could barely make it through this book without making fun of her and getting mad at her the entire time. Also, Charlie deserved better. #JusticeForCharlieSwan

Rating: 1


Red, White, & Royal Blue by Casey McQuinston (x2)

Yeah, I read it twice. Sometimes you need a cute lighthearted read in the midst of an ongoing pandemic and terrifying election, thank you very much.

Rating: 4


Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

I remember loving this book the first time I read it, but it definitely didn't hit the same when I chose to reread it this year. However, I love the story, and following an agoraphobic main character is incredibly intriguing, which is why I'll probably continue to pick this one up.

Rating: 3


One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London

Basically crack for anyone who loves The Bachelor franchise. This is like reading a season of The Bachelorette, and I loved it. More, please.

Rating: 5


The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopulos

Rating: 3


Beach Read by Emily Henry

Rating: 4


Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

A good old cliché kind of raunchy romance, which really can't go wrong in my book.

Rating: 4


Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

Rating: 4


I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

Rating: 4


The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

As far as historical fiction goes, I loved this book. But because it's a historical fiction, it automatically makes me feel a little bored reading it, since the genre just isn't my thing. But hey! If you like historical fiction, I recommend this 100%. It's more of a feminist novel about women who run a travel-library, bringing books to people across the area. I don't know, it's pretty cool, and I would have loved it if only I were more interested in the historical aspect.

Rating: 3


Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

Rating: 3


David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell

Rating: 4


The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper

Rating: 3


Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

Rating: 4


Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

A lot of this book seems to stick with me since reading it, but I opted to listen to the audiobook, which wasn't the best call. I feel like reading a physical copy would give me a better understanding of the story.

Rating: 3


Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Rating: 4


The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Rating: 3


The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

I mean, 80 pages of this was definitely enough for me. Actually, it might have been too much. I like this story, but you won't catch me reading it very often.

Rating: 3


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Rating: 3


The Shadows by Alex North

Um... no. Just no. I can't think of one part of this book that was actually scary, and that's kind of the whole point of a horror novel. This was... boring.

Rating: 1


Too Much and Never Enough by Mary L. Trump

Rating: 4


Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

A new favorite, and I can't believe it took me so long to read this one.

Rating: 5


Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

I didn't actually know what I was expecting from this book, but it isn't what I got. And that was a pleasant surprise because I actually loved this book. This is definitely one of the most interesting laid out books ever, with a compelling story, dynamic characters, and amazing writing.

Rating: 5


The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune

Rating: 4


Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

Just a little disappointing, overall.

Rating: 2


The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen

Rating: 4


Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green, David Levithan

Rating: 3


Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

Rating: 3


The Institute by Stephen King

This was my first Stephen King novel, and you know, I'm glad it was. It's a pretty interesting story that kept my compelled throughout the 400+ pages, though it does seem to drag on a little.

Rating: 3.5


Loveless by Alice Oseman

Not as hard-hitting and relatable as her other book, Radio Silence, which I read at the very beginning of the year. However, it was still really enjoyable, and a fun read.

Rating: 4


Heartstopper by Alice Oseman

This one took me about 30 minutes to read; granted, it's a graphic novel, and very easy to get through. The illustrations are super cute, and the story isn't exactly riveting, but it's pretty cute.

Rating: 3.5


The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Rating: 4


Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

I did melt a little bit into a puddle reading this, especially at the end. I thought this was a really clever story, and every character was very well-written. I wasn't sure if this was a true 5-star for me, but I really wanted to give it a 5. Because I really loved it. So, for now, we'll roll with it.

Rating: 5


Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline

Ready Player One is amazing, and one of the best books I read this year. But the sequel is just so disappointing. It didn't need to happen, and I'm pretty sure even Ernest Cline knows that. Proud of him for getting that money, though, but this book dragged on, and really annoyed me. I did it a favor by not rating it a 1.

Rating: 2

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page